KTA migration
KTA migration


+61 3 9674 3670

General Skilled Migration

Want to work in Australia? 

KTA Migration knows what you need to do

"Are you struggling to find a company to sponsor you? Why not consider the General Skilled Migration program? With this program, you can migrate to Australia independent of a company - you will migrate based on your own skills. The program requires that you have an occupation listed on the SOL (Skilled Occupation List); a positive Skills Assessment; and English language of at least IELTS 6. You must meet the points threshold of 60 points based on your age, English, education and employment. I can undertake a full eligibility assessment for you. What are you waiting for?!", Kathryn

General Skilled Migration

The General Skilled Migration (GSM) program is for skilled migrants who have skills in particular occupations required in Australia and who are not sponsored by an employer. Options under the GSM program include applying as an Independent migrant, being sponsored by a relative or being nominated by an Australian State or Territory. Options also exist for Australian graduates.

NEW PATHWAY! New Zealand Citizens now have access to Australian Permanent Residence 

Effective 1 July 2017, a new stream in the Subclass 189 Skilled Independent visa program allowed New Zealand citizens to apply for Australian Permanent Residence based on the following requirements:

• The Main Applicant must hold a Subclass 444 Special Category visa; and 
• The Main Applicant must have been usually resident in Australia, on or before 16 February 2016, for a continuous period for at least five years immediately before the date of application; and
• The Main Applicant's taxable income for the most recently completed income tax years must be no less than minimum thresholds (Exemptions exist). 


Expression of Interest (EOI)

To be eligible to apply for some of the GSM visa options, you will need to lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI). To lodge an EOI, you must hold a positive Skills Assessment for an eligible skilled occupation; IELTS/OET English results; and meet the threshold of currently 60 points which are accumulated from such factors as your age, education, employment experience and English level. You must also be under 50 years of age.

The EOI is not a visa application - it is an expression made to the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) that you would like to be invited to apply for a GSM visa. DIBP issues invitations every fortnight. If you are invited to apply for a GSM visa, you must do so within 60 days of invitation.

PLEASE NOTE: Subclass 189 Skilled Independent visa Age Lowered

Effective 1 July 2017, the maximum age under the Subclass 189 Skilled Independent visa will be lowered from 50 years to 45 years.

Transitional arrangements are in place - the amendment does not apply to applications made in response to an invitation by the Minister given before 1 July 2017 and the application is made on or after 1 July 2017; or, the applicant claims to be a member of the family unit of the primary applicant and is making a combined application with the primary applicant.


Skills Assessments

KTA Migration assists with Skills Assessing Body applications for recognition of your skills. Skills assessing bodies include: Australian Computer Society (ACS); Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC); Engineer’s Australia; Trades Recognition Australia (TRA) and VETASSESS.


This information relates to Subclass 189; Subclass 190; Subclass 489 visa; and Subclass 485 visas. Please contact KTA Migration for migration advice specific to your circumstances.